Cobb Following Gwinnett Lead, Has Stopped Making Misdemeanor Marijuana Arrests

Cobb County stopped making Misdemeanor Marijuana, less than an ounce, arrests. As explained in the post dealing with Gwinnett County, this is likely temporary until a procedure is set up to scientifically distinguish legal, low THC hemp, from marijuana. No word yet from the Cobb County cities of Marietta, Acworth, Smyrna, Kenensaw, Powder Springs, and Austell as to whether they will also stop making marijuana arrests as well. Georgia cities are heavily dependent on fines from these kinds of cases so it will be interesting to see how they would handle this potential loss of revenue.




police and marijuana